Food

Blood on Meat

E-mail Print PDF

Q: Eating blood is haraam, but what about the blood that comes out of steak/chops while cooking it? I use a tissue to blot it away while cooking, but  afterwards the juice of it also looks a little red too.

A:
Once an animal has been slaughtered according to the Shari'ah method, any blood that remains on the body (on the meat) is Halaal. When cooking if this blood mixes with the gravy or water, it will remain Halaal. The blood that is Haraam in Shari'ah is flowing blood and this flowing blood has been thoroughly expelled when the animal bleeds after slaughter.(Fataawa Al Hindiyyah V1 P46).

Moulana Yusuf Laher

Last Updated on Monday, 17 February 2014 08:23

Eating Illegal Halaal Item

E-mail Print PDF

Q: Someone I know regularly purchases and consumes a food product that is halal for consumption in principle, but it is illegal to obtain where he lives. Thus, he resorts to illegal means when both purchasing the item and receiving it.

He is obtaining a medication that is illegal in his country but using it at a dosage higher than normal in order to help him lose weight. He is using it under the supervision of a personal trainer to ensure that he does so safely without harming his health. He obtains this by ordering it from countries where this medication is legal and has those people ship it to him in his country where it is illegal to purchase.

Does the fact that he obtains this item illegally (per the laws of the land he lives in) render it haram for consumption and thus, render his deeds unaccepted for 40 days?

A:
It is not a general principle that it is Haraam to break the law of the land.

For him to purchase and consume this according to Islamic law is permissible on condition that there is no Haraam ingredient in the product.

Thus, it will not affect his deeds.

Allah Ta'aala knows best.

Moulana Yusuf Laher





Food Grains being Halaal

E-mail Print PDF

Q: Just out of curiosity I would like to know how the fuqaha (scholars of jurisprudence) came to the conclusion that food grains e.g. rice is halal.

A:
The Fuqahaa mention that the principle law regarding vegetation is it being permissible (Raddul Muhtaar V27 P229).

The reason would be that there is no mention of it being Haraam in Qur'aan and Sunnah.

Also, there is no Haraam aspect to vegetation.

Allah Ta'aala knows best.

Moulana Yusuf Laher

Ruling on Calamari, Whale and Eel

E-mail Print PDF

Q: What is the ruling regarding calamari, whales and eels according to Hanafis? 

A:
A Hadeeth specifies two things that can be eaten without slaughtering. One of them is fish. This Hadeeth specifically mentions the word 'As Samak' which means fish. The Hanafi jurists, citing this Hadeeth, say that only that is Halaal for consumption from the sea which falls under the category of As Samak. This discussion is lengthy and technical and can be found in the Arabic books of Fiqh. The above is the gist of the discussion. (Raddul Muhtaar V26 P193, Kashful Khifaa V1 P59, Al Mabsoot of Imam Sarakhsi V11 P398)

Calamari does not fall under the category of fish.

The whale and eel fall under fish.

Allah Ta'aala knows best.

Moulana Yusuf Laher

Eating Crayfish, Calamari, Mussels and Prawns

E-mail Print PDF

Q: I would like to know whether the consuming of crayfish tails, calamari and mussels is allowed according according to the hanafi mathhab? And also the ruling with regard to prawns.

A: Consuming of crayfish, calamari and mussels are not allowed in the Hanafi Madhab. There are both opinions on prawns.

Moulana Yusuf Laher

Page 1 of 12