Vegetarian Restaurant and Temple

E-mail Print PDF

Q: I am a revert and I was taken to lunch by friends to a strictly vegetarian place. No meat or alcohol enters the restaurant or surrounding area.The restaurant however is under a temple; so after you tour the temple you may choose to buy your food and eat. Is the food that I ate from the restaurant  haraam?

A
. The food is most probably Halaal because the restaurant is strictly vegetarian, but one should avoid eating at non Muslim owned eating houses. Although Halaal, it can contaminate one spiritually.

The touring of the temple is not acceptable. This should not have been done. In such places there definitely is spiritual harms. Repentance should be resorted to for touring the temple, a place of Shirk and Kufr.

May Allah Ta'aala keep us in His pleasure, Aameen.

Moulana Yusuf Laher
Checked by: Mufti Siraj Desai