Q: I received an e-mail saying that Pepsi contains pork extracts. They say the head of Delhi University’s science and technology department, Dr. Mangoshada scientifically proved that the key element in Pepsi and cola contains extract from the intestines of pig. Is there any truth in this report?
A: The email that was circulated regarding coke & pepsi containing pig extract is a hoax. There is no one by the name of “Dr Mangoshada” at Delhi University or anywhere else. Delhi University does not even have a department of Science and Technology. So please disregard this. However, coke does contain ethanol, so we should avoid consuming it. There is difference of opinion among Jurists whether this ethanol is of the haraam type. In matters like these, caution is best. Furthermore, there are many alternate soft drinks available, and there are also serious health risks related to Coke. So we strongly urge people to avoid consuming coke and similar soft drinks.
|< Prev||Next >|