Doubt Over Ingredients of Medication

E-mail Print PDF
Q: My doctor gave me medication for an illness. I am aware than in general, many medications contain ingredients from haram animal sources. However, I have no specific information that the particular drug I have been given contains anything haram. Is it allowed for me to use this medication?

A: As long as there is no certainty that a medication contains a haraam ingredient, you must consider it halaal and lawful. Not all drugs or medication contain haraam ingredients. There is no need to doubt. Continue using the medication.
We make dua that Allah Ta'ala grants you complete cure and enables you to fulfill the rights of nikah, aameen.

Mufti Siraj Desai